After Apple Picking

 

 

photo (1)

After Apple-Picking

BY ROBERT FROST

My long two-pointed ladder’s sticking through a tree
Toward heaven still,
And there’s a barrel that I didn’t fill
Beside it, and there may be two or three
Apples I didn’t pick upon some bough.
But I am done with apple-picking now.

 

Empty nesters worry about what they’re going to talk about with their spouse now the kids are gone. No more conversational buzz around the dinner table: no sibling squabbles to settle, adolescent crises to resolve, schedules to sort through.

Suddenly, there’s space for a couple to talk. To one another. There’s even–trust me on this, younger parents; it will happen–silence!

Wherever they’ve gone off to, our grown children have potential majors to discuss; unfamiliar colleagues to dissect; engagements and new apartments and how they’re going to budget for rent and dog food on a starting salary.

We’ve been there, done that. We’ve got to look at one another across the empty dinner table and create news from lives which have been fairly routine for years.

Or not.

It’s hard to sink into boredom with James around.

photo (3)

 

This morning, we headed to a kindly neighbor’s and picked enough apples to see us through much of the fall.  For most couples, I’d say ”year”, but, well, we eat a lot of apples. (And, yes, if you’re on my Christmas list, it’s likely you’re going to receive a jar of homemade sauce.)

Thirty-two years married, and I’m still never quite sure what James will do next. Fifty-something, and he still clambers so high up trees that it’s hard to spot him among the leaves.

While I stay safely on the ground, sorting through windfalls.

That’s the difference between the two of us.

IMG_9912

(It’s one of the ironies of life that I’m the one most prone to accidents. One of my Christmas gifts last year was a set of knives actually sharp enough to be of use. And a box of bandaids.)

I think, even with the kids grown and gone, there’s going to be plenty to talk about in the coming years.

If nothing else, this weekend, we’ve got to figure out where to store all the apples.

photo (4)          What are you and yours talking about these days?

 

6 thoughts on “After Apple Picking

    1. Margaret Post author

      Paul, I actually just made the pie! Washing the ants off the windfalls first. So, yes, could be in the mail. Except James will eat it before I get it into a box.
      Ps the best one I ever made was with Tommy’s help last week. He added about 2 inches of dutch crumble-type stuff on top.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Margaret Post author

        Yes, that’s my plan. To make people cry. Seriously, I really enjoyed the apple picking. And since I don’t always tend to be the most optimistic person, that’s a real joy. To have enjoyed something.

        Like

Leave a Reply

